Watermelon Rum Cocktail of Sorts

What I bought:

 

1 Seedless Watermelon ($1/3lbs)

1 carton of Blueberries ($1.50)

Organic apples ($? It was cheap…I bought a 3 pound bag, but can’t remember the price)

Lemon ($0.35)

Fresh Basil ($1)

 

What I added:

Coconut Rum

 

What I did:

 

**Note: this has simple ingredients, but is a bit more complicated because I used a lot of tools in the kitchen.  You can alter the recipe to be less work.

 

Step 1:  I cut half of a seedless watermelon into chunks and removed the rind.  I blended the watermelon chunks, and I added 3/4 cups of rum and poured the liquid into a 9’’x13’’ pan and placed in the freezer for 5-6 hours, or you could make it the night before you plan to have the drinks.

 

Step 2:

 

When you are ready to make the drinks, use a fork to scrape watermelon into a fluffy consistency.

 

With a juicer, I juiced a few apples and a handful of blueberries.

 

*(However, if you don’t have a juicer, you could probably just use fresh apple juice or even orange juice and add a few handfuls of blueberries in the blender with the watermelon mixture.)

 

In a cocktail shaker or a large cup, add about 1 loose cup of the watermelon fluff mixture, 2 oz (2 shot glasses) of apple-blueberry juice.  Crush and chop 3 fresh basil leaves and add to the shaker or cup and add the juice of half a lemon.  I would also add more rum to your preference here.  Shake or stir just a few seconds, then pour into glasses.

 

Assessment:  The basil and lemon added a savory essence to the drink so it wasn’t too sweet, and they really were my favorite flavors in the drink.  It’s more like a slushy if you just stir the ingredients and pour into the glasses, or can be like a cocktail if you pour through the filter of your cocktail shaker…either way, it was a very good experiment.  Probably my new favorite summer drink.  In the end, because I used my juicer, we got several servings of fruits in our drink too…who says cocktails can’t be healthful?  But I will definitely add more rum next time I make this recipe; 3/4 cups added to the watermelon wasn’t enough for our household…

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Drinks, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment