Quorn and Baby Corn Stirfry with Peanut and Passionfruit Sauce

I was determined to do it today. I’d got paid in cash for a gig last night, I’d had a good class this afternoon, the weather was sunny… it was time to cook. The really fun bit was cycling home and trying to figure out what to do with what I found in the reduced items (yey! to the yellow stickers!) shelf of the big fridge at Tesco’s on my way home from work in Marble Arch.

I bought one each of whatever they had on the shelf, except for the pork loin steaks. Like all good Jewish boys I like the pig, but such thick chunks of it are sometimes a bit too much!

So I got:

Baby Corn, reduced to 79p

Spring Onions, reduced to 55p

2 Lemon & Black Pepper Quorn Escalopes, reduced to £1.35

3 Passion Fruit, reduced to 55p

And I added from home:

Beansprouts

Chunky Peanut Butter

White Wine Vinegar

Soya Sauce

Coriander

I don’t remember the exact thought process, but I’ve been into peanut sauce lately – mainly with rice noodles and cucumber and baby peppers and mint and stuff (basically, the insides of a summer roll, but as a salad) – so I knew I wanted more of that, and the passion fruit… or granadilla as we call it back home, and indeed, the granadillas were from South Africa… they seemed like a good combo with the peanut butter, and some chopped spring onion, and I knew I had some coriander left at home. So for the sauce I mixed in  1 tbs peanut butter, 2 tbs white wine vinegar, 2 tbs soya sauce, the pulp of three granadillas, 3 tbs chopped coriander. And that was it for the sauce.

I love stir-fried baby corn, so that blinds me to other ways of preparing it – is there another way? – and because there was going to be a stir-fry, then the escalopes needed to be sliced up, and there was a bag of beansprouts at home… so that was decided. First I grilled the quorn escalopes for about 20 minutes in the oven. I sliced the baby corns in half down the middle, chopped up some spring onions and fried them until the baby corn started to brown. I sliced the escalopes and threw them into the pan with 2 big handfuls of beansprouts, and fried that on a high heat for a minute. Then I added some soya sauce, half a teaspoon of brown sugar, and a generous pinch of coriander.

Verdict: The flavours were great and the sauce went well with the stir fry. The only problem was that the seeds of the granadilla were a bit to hard. Next time I think I’d use mango, perhaps, or a ripe peach. Later, I tucked into what was left over, and even though it was cold, it was delicious. Which reminds me of the years when I was into cold pizza with cottage cheese, but that’s another story.

About Shaun Levin

Writer, workshop facilitator, creator of Writing Maps. Books include Seven Sweet Things, Snapshots of The Boy, and A Year of Two Summers.

Posted on June 14, 2011, in Halal, Recipes, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment